Chaos and Awe: Painting for the 21st Century (Group Exhibition)

Frist Art Museum, Nashville, TN

June 22–September 16, 2018

Press Release

Chaos and Awe: Painting for the 21st Century, a sweeping survey of contemporary art from around the world, celebrates paint’s capacity to weave together images of physical reality, memories, emotions, and the virtual world. The artists in the exhibition dramatically describe the destabilizing effects of such 21st-century forces as globalism, mass migration, radical ideologies, and complex technologies. 

The feelings these artists express, which range from despair at humanity’s darker side to exhilaration at ever-expanding possibilities, are associated with the sublime, a concept that has traditionally referred to being awestruck by the unfathomable power of God and nature. While this can involve sensations of terror and helplessness, it can also relate to wonder, as discussed by the 19th-century artist and critic John Ruskin:

        Anything which elevates the mind is sublime, and elevation
        of mind is produced by the contemplation of greatness of any
        kind. ... Sublimity is, therefore, only another word for the
        effect of greatness upon the feelings; greatness, whether
        of matter, space, power, virtue, or beauty: and there is
        perhaps no desirable quality of a work of art, which, in its
        perfection, is not, in some way or degree, sublime.

Chaos and Awe shows painting to be an apt medium for conveying a contemporary notion of the sublime, with works in the exhibition providing visual analogies for the great depth and mystery of the human mind and its extension into the world.

Chaos and Awe was organized by Mark Scala, chief curator, Frist Art Museum.




Franz Ackermann, Eddy Kamuanga Ilunga
Ahmed Alsoudani, Rashid Johnson
Ghada Amer and Reza Farkhondeh, Guillermo Kuitca
Korakrit Arunanondchai, Heather Gwen Martin
Radcliffe Bailey, Julie Mehretu
Ali Banisadr, Jiha Moon
Pedro Barbeito, Wangechi Mutu
Jeremy Blake, James Perrin
Matti Braun, Neo Rauch
Dean Byington, Matthew Ritchie
Hamlett Dobbins, Rachel Rossin
Nogah Engler, Pat Steir
Anoka Faruqee, Barbara Takenaga
Barnaby Furnas, Dannielle Tegeder
Ellen Gallagher, Kazuki Umezawa
Wayne Gonzales, Charline von Heyl
Wade Guyton, Sarah Walker
Rokni Haerizadeh, Corinne Wasmuht
Peter Halley, Sue Williams